4/11
So remember how I was whining yesterday about having to get up at 4.30AM? Well, guess what. We started work at 4.30 today, so I had to set my alarm for 3.30AM instead. And all of that to go for a 14km walk in the bush to collect camera traps. I had a really poor sleep last night as is, due to leopards hunting around the camp and making all the birds scream like it was the end of the world.
Once finished with the walk we started our drive back to the camp. We were probably less than 5 minutes in when we spotted something in the middle of the road. It didn’t look like an animal, so we slowed down and realized quickly after that the “object” on the road was a person. There, in the middle of the bush, far away from any villages, with the bright sun shining mercilessly, a person had collapsed. We managed to wake her, but she was very disoriented and clearly severely dehydrated. We lifted her in the car and drove her to the closest village. She was in a horrible state. We tried to give her water, but she couldn’t get much in. Most of it just dribbled down her chin.
We drove her to the closest village, where
I was shocked to see how inappropriately the situation was handled. Turns out the
girl had been missing for a few days and her family in a neighbor village was
looking for her. Happy ending, I thought as the locals agreed to take the girl
from us and arrange for her to be picked up by the family members. But the
shocking bit was that they showed no care when helping her. They literally
pulled her out of the ute and dragged her along the pavement. The poor girl
didn’t even have shoes on. The whole thing left a horrible taste in my mouth…
How little the human life is worth here. Makes you think, doesn’t it.
PM plans are to go finish up the leopard traps and hang out the remains of the goat we slaughtered the day before (not me personally, I stayed way clear of the event). We then have another LMT and off to a holiday mode it is (packing, sorting).
On a positive note, we were once again visited by ellies today! I got a great video of one of the bulls pulling down a tree. I wish I had recorded his attempt to charge Nick though. I think we all peed ourselves a little bit, haha. We’re all OK though, it was just a bit of an adrenaline rush.
PM plans are to go finish up the leopard traps and hang out the remains of the goat we slaughtered the day before (not me personally, I stayed way clear of the event). We then have another LMT and off to a holiday mode it is (packing, sorting).
On a positive note, we were once again visited by ellies today! I got a great video of one of the bulls pulling down a tree. I wish I had recorded his attempt to charge Nick though. I think we all peed ourselves a little bit, haha. We’re all OK though, it was just a bit of an adrenaline rush.