2/10/17
Slowly getting used to the routine here. Still baffles me that some people start
working in the middle of the night (5.30AM) for their whole lives. What about
long showers, pancakes in bed and more importantly, morning cuddles with the
one you love? Surely you can’t fit it all in, unless you maybe skip the going
to bed part in the first place and just belt it out 24/7. I’m not complaining,
I’m just saying…
We spent over 7 hours in the car today. And when I say in the car, I really
mean in back of a ute, doing Mario kart. My back and knees are covered in
bruises due to bumpy roads and low hanging branches. My lower back is aching
like no tomorrow and I feel like I’m slowly dying of a heat stroke (as
anticipated). I am proud to say though that despite all of my war scars, I even
managed to get all of my washing done. And doing washing here is like a workout
on it’s own.
During our drive we saw a mongoose (my first!) and quite a bit of Kudu. We also
found fresh hyena scat and set up a couple of cameras.
On another note, last night’s dinner was the bomb. I ended up making curried
sticky rice with veggies and despite the rice being maybe too sticky, everyone
seemed to enjoy it and some of them had even thirds (yep, not seconds, thirds).
Maybe I still have a chance in My Kitchen Rules?
It’s 3.20 and I am trying super hard not to fall asleep. Maybe if I read a book
or start Parks and Rec from season 1 (for the fifth time) I can squeeze another
couple of hours out of myself? Ps, just 3 days 4 nights before I go to
Lilongwe! Yay. So close to coming home now. Could not be more excited!
No comments:
Post a Comment